Click to toggle mobile navigation menu.

Highlighted Nanny – Brittni Kushner

“Brittni is a gem. She is a trusted and adored member of our family. Our boys have opened their hearts to her and we are so grateful to have found her.” – Sarah W.

 

Strollers and Stilettos® interviewed Brittni Kushner as our highlighted nanny for the month of September. Brittni has a degree in Criminal Justice with a minor in Sociology from Carthage College along with many years of full-time nanny experience. Read the full interview below!

 

S&S: Where did you grow up?

 

BK: Hinsdale, IL

 

S&S: Why did you end up in Chicago?

 

BK: I moved to Chicago about seven years ago to live with my sister. I always knew I would be a city girl!

 

S&S: What is your alma mater?

 

BK: Carthage College in Kenosha, Wisconsin

 

S&S: What degree(s) do you hold?

 

BK: I have a bachelors degree in Criminal Justice with a minor in Sociology.

 

S&S: Tell me a little bit about your professional experience – What have some of your previous roles been?

 

BK: After graduating college, I worked at a personal training facility training disabled children. I then moved to the city and I was immediately hired for a nanny position that turned out to be the best decision of my life!

 

S&S: What did you want to be when you “grew up”?

 

BK: Growing up I ALWAYS said I would be a doctor like my dad (Not knowing how much school I would have to go through)! Going into college I knew I wanted to study Criminal Justice to become a police officer or work in a juvenile detention center.

 

S&S: Who is one person you looked up to or still look up to?

 

BK: I have always looked up to my father and still do. He is the smartest, most hard working man I know. He is my go to for everything! I will always be a daddy’s girl.

 

S&S: Why did you decide to become a nanny?

 

BK: I knew being a nanny was my true passion and something I would excel at. I love being active with the kids daily, whether it is running around with them to their activities, or sitting at home working on crafts or a puzzle. Watching a child grow and develop is something that is very rewarding to me.

 

S&S: How long have you been in this role?

 

BK: I have been a nanny for about six years and have been with family I am with now for a little over a year!

 

S&S: What is your favorite part of your current position?

 

BK: My favorite part right now would be their age. These boys have me laughing all day long. I love when they ask me to take videos of them doing silly things or singing songs just so they can watch themselves. Also, being in the car with them. The conversations they have with each other are hysterical. I love it!

 

S&S: Why do you enjoy working with children?

 

BK: I enjoy working with children because they are so sweet and innocent. These boys love playing with each other, well behaved, and they are your typical four-year-old silly boys. What more could you ask for?

 

S&S: Kids often say whatever comes to mind – Do you have a favorite line from a kiddo you previously worked with?

 

BK: When I leave for the day both boys yell out, “Enjoy your evening!”

 

S&S: Do you want to have a family of your own someday? How many kids do you envision yourself having?

 

BK: I go back and forth with wanting kids. I always said growing up I wanted three kids. Right now, one seems like the perfect amount!

 

S&S: What are your favorite things to do with kids?

 

BK: I love being hands on with the boys. I always try to get outside as much as we can. But, one of my favorite things to do is to sit back and watch them interact with each other or friends.

 

S&S: What do you enjoy doing in Chicago during your personal time?

 

BK: I enjoy going to yoga. (Corepower) I also love going for walks with my sister and her puppy or ride my bike on the lakefront with my boyfriend.

 

S&S: Tell me about a day in the life of a Nanny.

 

BK: When I arrive, usually one of the boys is already up and hiding from me waiting to be found. After I find him, I prepare breakfast and by then the other twin is up. We have our breakfast and slowly get our day going. We play or they have a scheduled activity we go to. The boys go to school for 3 hours during the day and that is when I clean up, run errands, prepare dinner, and relax. After school the boys sometimes have a playdate with school friends or we go home and play there. I get the boys changed into their PJ’s and feed them dinner. By the time they are finished, their mom or dad is home and the boys are ready to spend the rest of the evening with their mommy and daddy!

 

S&S: What are some of your favorite spots in the Chicago area (i.e. museums, play cafes, restaurants, beaches)?

 

BK: I love the lake! Any chance I get I enjoy being by the water. Like I said earlier, I love yoga so I always try to make time to get to a class.

 

S&S: Where do you see yourself in five years – On a personal and/or professional level?

 

BK: In five years, I hope to still be with the twins! Maybe I will be married by then but I am also in no rush. Everything happens for a reason!

 

S&S: How did you hear about Strollers and Stilettos™?

 

BK: I heard about Strollers and Stilettos from another nanny that worked with Katie.

 

S&S: What was the process like with Strollers and Stilettos™?

 

BK: Easy! Katie is so professional and amazing at making sure you are a right fit for the family, and that the family is a right fit for you. I am so glad I went through this process with Strollers and Stilettos because I have never been happier! I can truly say I love going to work!

 

S&S: How did Strollers and Stilettos™ help you with finding a family in Chicago?

 

BK: Katie is basically a matchmaker. She got to know me and understand exactly what I was looking for in a family. She paired me up with the family I am with now and it’s a perfect match!

 

S&S: Do you have any advice for families interested in hiring a nanny?

 

BK: Communication! Also, find someone you can trust, and someone you eventually see as being a part of your family!

 

S&S: Do you have any advice for candidates interested in becoming a nanny?

 

BK: Be honest! Do not be afraid to be picky to find the perfect family for you. Make sure you are flexible because every day can be different. Stay positive! Being a nanny is the best!