Click to toggle mobile navigation menu.

Highlighted Nanny – Meegan Moore

“Meegan has been so much more than a nanny; she has truly been a life saver. Our family was in a big transition when Meegan started. We had just moved from the midwest to the east coast, started new jobs, and had out planned childcare fall through. I’m not exaggerating when I say that for me, Meegan was the best think about moving to Maine. She has brought calm, order and stability to our home. She’s caring, insightful and adventurous. We couldn’t have asked for anyone better for our son. She has been such a blessing to our family, and I thank Katie for finding her.” – Arpita B. (Mother of One, Maine)

 

We interviewed Meegan Moore as our highlighted nanny for the month of February. Meegan has a degree in Psychology and is certified in Elementary Education. She also has 10 years of nannying experience! Read her full interview below!

 

 

S&S: Where did you grow up?

MM: In the San Francisco Bay Area and Denver Metro Area.

 

S&S: Where do you live currently?

MM: I am currently living and working in Maine.

 

S&S: What is your alma mater?

MM: Colorado Mesa University in Grand Junction, CO.

 

S&S: What degree(s) do you hold?

MM: I have a BA in Psychology and post-baccalaureate education and certification in Elementary Education.

 

S&S: Tell me a little bit about your professional experience – What have some of your previous roles been?

MM: Immediately following college, I began working in public education and held various roles from after school programming to teaching preschool and finally as a kindergarten teacher. Later, I made a professional shift to work in the realm of social work as a child advocate providing parent education and child abuse prevention programs as well as creating and implementing early childhood programs.

 

S&S: What did you want to be when you “grew up”?

MM: I wanted to be everything! Most often I wanted to be a nurse, veterinarian, teacher, author, photographer or professional ballerina.

 

S&S: Who is one person you looked up to or still look up to?

MM: My mother is the person I try to emulate most in life. She is incredibly kind, patient, thoughtful, selfless, and unconditionally loving to all people. She overcomes every obstacle in life with such a beautiful balance between strength and grace.

 

S&S: Why did you decide to become a nanny?

MM: I began my first full time nanny position in order to refocus professionally. I learned I really enjoyed the work and that sometimes life unfolds in such a way that we end up exactly where we were meant to be.

 

S&S: How long have you been in this role?

MM: I have been a professional nanny since 2009 and with my current family since January 2017.

 

S&S: What is your favorite part of your current position?

MM: Although still quite young, my charge is incredibly curious and bright allowing me to utilize my creativity and skills to teach and challenge him, which is very fulfilling. He also has a great sense of humor! His parents are the sweetest and most devoted first-time parents and they allow me a lot of professional freedom. I also enjoy taking some of the household burden from them so they are able to spend as much quality time as a family as possible. Also, this position required me to learn to cook on some level, so I now have a new skill!

 

S&S: Why do you enjoy working with children?

MM: I love just about everything about children and spending time with them! I think what I love most is being part of their innocent and special relationship with the world around them. Everything is new, interesting, and exciting to them. Since I do not have children of my own, I love the idea that I am and always will be a part of their early childhood “village” and I hope they look back at their time with me fondly. Caring for another person’s child is a great responsibility and privilege.

 

S&S: Kids often say whatever comes to mind – Do you have a favorite line from a kiddo you previously worked with?

MM: There are so many, especially funny ones. However, my favorite is when a former charge, barely 3 years old at the time, looked out the window to say goodnight to the moon (a very bright full moon on a very dark night) and said, “It is as if the moon is peeling away the darkness!” He was so genuinely in awe of the moon, a demonstration of how children take time to notice the things we have forgotten to or are too busy to as adults, and his words so poetic (especially for three!). He is much older now and his poetry continues to astonish me.

 

S&S: Do you want to have a family/kids of your own someday?

MM: I have been married to my husband for 10 years and I consider him my family for now. I feel very fulfilled loving and caring for my current and former charges, although I do hope to become a foster parent sometime in the future and possibly adopt a child. I am content where I am right now.

 

S&S: What are your favorite things to do with kids?

MM: Mostly, I enjoy engaging in activities that my charges enjoy. I also enjoy sharing my love of nature through activities such as nature walks, hiking, swimming, beach trips, sledding, and snowshoeing. I adore reading to children and helping them learn to read when they are ready.

 

S&S: What do you enjoy doing during your personal time?

MM: I love spending time with my family, friends and my dog as much as possible and enjoying all the outdoor activities Maine has to offer. I especially like hiking, snowshoeing, and exploring the beautiful rocky coast.

 

S&S: Tell me about a day in the life of a Nanny.

MM: Generally, my days start very early and end sometime after dinner; however, the actual activities vary depending on the day. My favorite days are slow mornings, followed by a fun adventure and picnic. Afternoon naps are utilized to clean up from our morning, do household chores, meal prep for dinner, and do some planning. We usually do a structured enrichment activity or two in the afternoon and have inside and outside free play before dinner.

 

S&S: What are some of your favorite spots in your area (i.e. museums, play cafes, restaurants, beaches)?

MM: My position is located in a fairly rural location but I am lucky the family lives on one of the most pristine lakes in this area. There is a small sandy beach not far from their home that I love taking my charge to during the day and in the evenings, I like to go swimming in the lake or walking through the woods.

 

S&S: Where do you see yourself in five years – On a personal and/or professional level?

MM: I suspect I will continue to be working with children in some capacity, likely continuing to be a nanny/household manager. I do plan to continue my education which I hope will include attending graduate school in the future.

 

S&S: How did you hear about Strollers and Stilettos™?

MM: I found a job posting on a national job board which lead me to research their company further.

 

S&S: What was the process like with Strollers and Stilettos™?

MM: Katie and her team are beyond amazing at constant communication throughout the application, interview and placement process. S&S acted as a liaison between myself and my prospective employer before my final placement and I think this sets S&S apart from other agencies I have worked with.

 

S&S: How did Strollers and Stilettos™ help you with finding a family?

MM: They connected me with my current family in Maine and ensured we would be a good fit for one another.

 

S&S: Do you have any advice for families interested in hiring a nanny?

MM: Be honest about your expectations and desires in a nanny, the job and schedule requirements, and length of placement. Open and honest communication is the most essential part to a good family-nanny relationship and a successful placement, so start that from the beginning. Spend as much time as possible with the nanny in person and ask lots of questions before offering a position.

 

S&S: Do you have any advice for candidates interested in becoming a nanny?

MM: Be honest about yourself and to yourself about what you are looking for in a position and a potential family. Again, honest communication is essential to a great placement. Spend as much time as possible getting to know the family, children, and parenting style. Ask as many questions as possible and invest some of your time into trial days with the children to ensure it will be a good fit.